Hit from the back…

A Pakistani colleague of mine was beaten up by a group of men in front of a pub [Three Guineas] in Reading recently. First they hit him with an empty whisky bottle and then when he fainted they kicked him all over his body. His fault? He was talking to a lady he met in the pub. And they came from the back and my colleague didn’t have any clue they were about to hit him. He says they came from Bradford where racism is extreme. Both “white” and “coloured” population try not to enter the areas where the other race lives. The police arrested them and the men were accused of assault.

The Pakistani colleague thinks it is part of life – a reality in UK. Quite strange! Is it still a reality in present-day Britain? Well, here are a few links for you to read about racism in Britain: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/3885213.stm, http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/8162280.stm, http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/8166173.stm.

Coming back to what I was saying: I told this to another colleague and expressed my concerns. I was visiting her house and it was quite late. I asked her whether anyone would insult me if I am found walking alone on the street. She assured me that nothing would happen and the incident in front of Three Guineas was an isolated one. Racism in UK is not the main reason I’m writing this log. I’d tend to ask me one question: would anyone in Bangladesh or, for that matter in Asia, be angered when he sees a white man getting friendly with a local lady?
About this entry