Let’s move the capital if we can’t move cantonment

I don’t know why Bangladeshi army officers get angry when the issue of moving the cantonment out of Dhaka is raised. The probable thought that comes to my mind is that: they want to be close the power lobby so that they can take over when the army thinks the politicians are failing. The army is seen watching the failure of the politicians silently – without suggesting anything about it. This “taking-over” attitude is quite visible. But this has to be done in some point of time. Not just the cantonment, the BDR [Bangladesh border guards] headquarters also needs to be moved out of Dhaka city where millions of civilians live.
I think I have a solution. Let’s move the capital elsewhere – out of Dhaka city. How about that? I know you’re laughing. -:)

About this entry