Nobody – a poem

It was not Jug Jug for me,
I didn’t go to Carthage,
It’s Mecca I a pilgrim for.
How could I be Prospero
To my coy mistress? Or was I
The Moor, or the Jew
From Venice? No, no,
I wasn’t Torvald for Nora.
I AM THE PRINCE FROM ELSIONORE.


Ya ho! I could have killed young Cassio but didn’t give ear
To Iago…My fair Ophelia did so,
And made me bleed.
Can’t you Tiresias see:
ROGENCRANTZ AND GUILDERSTEIN WILL BE DEAD?


There cannot be Shantih if they live,
Only HE can make it reconciled,
Oh God! Come, come to your
Created creature’s help –
Help him to diminish the
THE FIRE OF THIS MELODRAMA.


These are the funniest few lines I have ever written. When I wrote this I used to pound my heart too much with Eliotic dictions and thoughts. I was too obliged to Camus’ famous ‘outside’ phenomenon in human absurdities. So, I brought in Hamlet, Othello, Love Song of J. Alfred Proofrock, Wasteland, Tempest, Doll’s House and what not. The world at that time used to seem this chaotic when I wrote this poem, well, if you at all call it a poem.

About this entry