When the prophets came – a poem

The day they wanted to cut my hair off,
I lost my spirit,
That says the universe
Is made of circles – with
No beginning, no ending
I was taught to speak English
I was taught to become an American
The day they taught me the universe
Was made of squares,
That began and will end.

The new prophets
Told us about new spirits
About no more sickness
In our lands,
Where we could avoid malaria
Where we could grow more food
Where we could build railroads.

New prophets brought new
Dances
Alphabets
Attires
New ways of kissing.

Our stones turned to
construction materials,
Our wood turned to
pulp for paper,
Our skin turned to
exportables
Our bones turned to
museum pieces.

Hopi sun-dances
Were termed as war-dances
By the new prophets
Cha’aakmongwi’s son, Cha’tima,
I was renamed George

Why?
Because a Cha’tima
A Chogan,
An Eluwilussit,
A He-lush-ka,
Was always a threat to White prophets’
Almighty-ness…

The prophets were scared
Of people.
And
Apaches,
Cherokees,
Cheyennes,
Chinooks,
Iroquois,
Mohawks,
Navajos,
Sioux,
Were all forced to became Americans,
Following new prophets’ religion.

About this entry